Strategic employee communications that
lead companies through transformation

What We’re Reading This Fall

When our team’s not drafting strategic communications plans, we’re curling up with good books — and not just business-related titles. From seasonally-appropriate mysteries to wine and war history, our interests prove as diverse as our clients. Here are some of the page-turners keeping us engaged this fall.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Fans of Agatha Christie and Alfred Hitchcock should pick this up immediately. Equal parts shocking and gripping, The Silent Patient begs to be read with a cup of something hot on a quiet night in.

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

Fall is a great time to read this classic self-help book. As we’ve entered a fresh time of year and the last quarter of 2019, it’s good to check in on goals we’ve made and what we’re looking to achieve in 2020.

Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin

A gripping psychological thriller, Girl Last Seen is about two missing girls, thirteen years apart. An intense psychological thriller for readers of I Am Watching You, The Luckiest Girl Alive, and All the Missing Girls.

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist

In Present Over Perfect, New York Times bestselling author Shauna Niequist invites you to consider the landscape of your own life, and what it might look like to leave behind the pressure to be perfect and begin the life-changing practice of simply being present, in the middle of the mess and the ordinariness of life.

Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood brings the iconic story of The Handmaid’s Tale to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting sequel. More than 15 years after the events of The Handmaid’s Tale, the theocratic regime of the Republic of Gilead maintains its grip on power, but there are signs it is beginning to rot from within. At this crucial moment, the lives of three radically different women converge, with potentially explosive results.

Wine and War by Don & Petie Kladstrup

This is the thrilling and harrowing story of the French wine producers who undertook ingenious, daring measures to save their cherished crops and bottles as the Germans closed in on them. Wine and War illuminates a compelling, little-known chapter of history, and stands as a tribute to those extraordinary individuals who waged a battle that, in a very real way, saved the spirit of France.

The Freedom Line by Peter Eisner

Compared to Casablanca by the Washington Post, The Freedom Line is a page turning story of a group of resistance workers who secreted downed Allied fighter pilots through France and into safety in Spain during World War II.

I’m Fine and Neither Are You by Camille Pagán

Honesty is the best policy…except maybe when it comes to marriage. I’m Fine and Neither Are You is a brilliant novel about the high price of perfection from this bestselling author.

Zietoun by Dave Eggers

This true story of one family, caught between America’s two biggest policy disasters: the war on terror and the response to Hurricane Katrina is a great read.

 

Gain strategic insight from Pivot's experts